Nov 16, 2013

Obsidian Mirror - Catherine Fisher

The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.
The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.
With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Doctor. Who, Shakespeare, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.

I honestly never saw this book coming. From the first page this book grabbed me by the front of the shirt and refused to let me go.
The story was so good, so deep, and so complicated!
I read over half of it in just a few hours, it was addicting! Every time I'd put it down all I could think about was the next time I'd pick it back up! Who knew food and bathroom breaks could be such a pain!
I ate every bit of this book up!
Though this book wasn't perfect it did have some profanity in it, but fortunately, like Fisher's Incarceron books, there wasn't too much. And also like her Incarceron books there was no romance. This book did have a darker tone to it but nothing overwhelming, I quite liked that about it, actually there isn't much to complain about this book, other than the fact that it's over with no published sequel yet.
I love Fisher's characters! They are so deep and have so many different facets yet to be discoverer, they're so real!
Then there is also the mysterious way in which she writes! Always leaving you hanging in one way or another, it's very well done, but that doesn't mean I have to like it!
But fantastic fantasy/dystopia AND time travel? Is this legal?! Oh. My. Goodness.
All I can say is Obsidian Mirror is ingeniously epic!
Title - Obsidian Mirror
Author - Catherine Fisher
Series/Trilogy Title - Chronoptika Quartet 
Book in Series/Trilogy - #1
Pages - 378
Type of Book - Fantasy/Science Fiction
Website -

No comments: